Skip to main content
To view all of the contacts in your workspace, click on Pipeline in the nav bar and then select the Contacts sub-menu option (Figure 1). This will bring up the contact list screen (Figure 2).
Contacts List Nav 3

Figure 1 - Select Contacts to View the Contact List

Access to contacts is controlled by the Contact Permissions section of your security role, which can scope view, edit, and delete access to all contacts, contacts in your practice or business unit, or just contacts you own. Contact permissions are independent of the Pipeline feature, so contacts remain accessible whether or not Pipeline is enabled for your workspace. At the top of the list screen, there is + button (Figure 3). Click on this button to create a contact. For more on creating contacts in Ruddr, see the Contacts - Create and Edit article. The list of contacts can be downloaded by clicking the download button to the left of the Create Contact button at the top-right of the list.

Figure 2 - Contact List Screen

Figure 3 - Click this + Button at the Top of the Contacts List Screen to Create a New Contact

On the contact list screen, you have the following filters at the top of the list to help you narrow down the results:
  • Contact Name - You can type in a partial contact name to narrow the results.
  • Contact Owner - Narrow down the results to contacts assigned a specific owner.
  • Contact Practice - Narrow down the results to contacts assigned to a specific Practice. This is available if the Practices feature is enabled in your workspace.
  • Contact Business Unit - Narrow down the results to contacts assigned to a specific Business Unit. This is available if the Business Units feature is enabled in your workspace.
The contact list also supports optional columns for Owner, Practice, and Business Unit, which can be turned on from the column selector at the top-right of the list. Selecting multiple contacts using the checkboxes at the left of the list enables bulk actions, including a bulk edit option to update the Owner, Practice, and Business Unit for many contacts at once. See Bulk Edit Contacts below for more detail.

The Contact Dashboard

To view the contact dashboard for a particular contact, simply click on the row in the list. The contact dashboard provides high-level information about the contact and any related activity. Shown on the contact list are any associations that the contact has with other entities. In the Assigned To column, you will see this list. The assignments are color-coded as follows:
  • Clients are in light green.
  • Companies are in light yellow.
  • Opportunities are in light gray.
At the right end of each contact row, you are provided with a menu of actions (Figure 4). These actions are View, Edit, and Delete.

Figure 4 - Contact Actions from the Contact List

Edit a Contact

Clicking on the Edit action item in the action menu (Figure 4) will open the contact Edit Drawer (Figure 5). From here, you can make any edits to the contact information that you wish to make. For more on editing contacts, please refer to the Contacts - Create and Edit article.

Figure 5 - Edit Contact Details in the Edit Contact Drawer

Delete a Contact

To delete a contact, simply click on the Delete menu option (Figure 4) on the row that you want to delete. This will bring up a confirmation window (Figure 6). Once you delete a contact, you cannot reverse this action and all data will be gone forever!

Figure 6 - Confirm your Decision to Delete a Contact

Bulk Edit Contacts

To update several contacts at once, select the checkboxes to the left of the contacts you want to change, then choose Bulk Actions (Figure 7) and select Edit.

Figure 7 - Select Contacts and Choose Bulk Actions to Edit Several Contacts at Once

This will open the Bulk Edit screen (Figure 6), where you can independently choose to Clear or Set the Owner, Practice, and Business Unit for all of the selected contacts.
Contacts Bulk Edit 2

Figure 8 - Select Contact Fields to Edit

Leaving a field unchanged will not modify that field on any of the selected contacts. Click Confirm to apply your changes.