Skip to main content
To see the members of a project team, click on the Team tab of the project dashboard. Depending on your security role, you may only have access to projects if you are on the project team. The Team tab (Figure 1), by default, shows profile cards for the active team members assigned to the project. You can use the Member Status filter to switch the view to inactive team members. Any inactive team member will show up in a semi-transparent presentation. Inactive team members can no longer record time or expenses toward the project.

Figure 1 - Team Tab on the Project Dashboard

Each profile card includes the member’s name, photo/avatar image (if one has been uploaded), project role(s) with billability indicator, and the hours worked to date on the project.

Edit the Project Team

To edit the project team, go to the Team section (Figure 2) of the project’s Settings tab. In order to see the Settings tab, you must have the Edit project permission. In the Team section, you can add team members, remove or deactivate a team member, set a member as Project Admin, specify whether a team member is billable and has a bill rate, and override a member’s cost rate for the project. The member list shows each team member’s name, job title, practice, and location. On billable projects that do not use roles, the member’s billability and bill rate are also shown. Use the Member Status filter to switch between active and inactive members; inactive members render dimmed. A badge next to the member’s name indicates a Project Admin.

Figure 2 - Team Section of the Project Settings Tab

Add a Project Team Member

To add a team member to the project team, simply click the + button at the top-right of the Team section (Figure 2) and select Add Members. This will show a modal (Figure 3) where you can search and select members to add to the project team. The same menu also offers Add All Workspace Members and Add All Employee Members options to add members in bulk. You will be shown matching results and can select the desired member to add to the team. Note that the member must already exist in the workspace in order to be added to a project team. If the member does not exist, ask your Workspace Admin to invite the new user into the workspace.

Figure 3 - Add Members to Project

Remove a Project Team Member

To remove a team member from the project team, simply click the action menu at the right of the member row in the Team section (Figure 2). This will show a menu (Figure 4) that will include a Remove from Team option and a Deactivate from Team option. Ruddr will ask you to confirm before removing the member.

Figure 4 - Access the Action Menu on the Member Row to Remove a Member from the Team

You can remove a team member from a project if the following criteria are met:
  • The member has no time entries associated with the project
  • The member has no expense items associated with the project
  • The member is not assigned to any project roles
  • The member is not assigned to any project tasks
  • The member is not the project’s only Project Admin
If any of the above conditions are not met, the member can be deactivated, but cannot be removed from the project team. By hovering over the Remove from Team (Figure 5), Ruddr will let you know the reasons why this member can’t be removed from the Team.

Figure 5 - Description on why the member can not be removed from the project

Deactivate a Project Team Member

If the criteria to remove a project team member cannot be met, you can deactivate the member instead. This will effectively remove the member from the project team and prohibit the member from creating or editing time or expenses for the project. But, the historical time and expense entries of that member will be preserved. To deactivate a team member, simply click on the action menu (Figure 4) at the right of the member row in the Team section (Figure 2) and choose the Deactivate from Team menu option. Ruddr will ask you to confirm before deactivating the member. Note that every project must keep at least one active Project Admin. You cannot deactivate the project’s last active administrator, and a member that is currently a Project Admin must have that role removed before being deactivated.

Set a Member as Project Admin

A Project Admin is required for each project in Ruddr and must be specified upon Project creation. If you wish to change the Project Admin, access the action menu (Figure 4) at the end of the project team member row in the Team section (Figure 2) and select the Set as Project Admin menu item. Ruddr will ask you to confirm the change. To remove the role from a member, select the Remove as Project Admin menu item. An inactive project member cannot be set as a Project Admin. For more on this role, and on how to specify additional Project Admins on a project, please view The Project Admin in Ruddr Help Center.

Set a Member as a Billable Member and Provide a Bill Rate

In the case where Project Roles are not leveraged on a project, a project member can be added to that project as a billable project member or a non-billable project member. Additionally, a member can have a bill rate applied to them when Project Roles are not used. To specify that a member is billable / non-billable, access the action menu (Figure 4) at the end of the project team member row in the Team section (Figure 2) and select the Edit Bill Rate menu item. On the dialog (Figure 6), check the Billable checkbox to specify that the member is billable, or uncheck to set the project member as a non-billable member. Reminder that this option is only available when the project is not using Project Roles. On this same dialog (Figure 6), if the member is a billable project member, you can supply a Bill Rate for the member on the project by entering a monetary value into the Bill Rate text box on the form. Again, this option is only available when the project does not use Project Roles. If the member already has time entries on the project, Ruddr will warn you that changing the rate will re-rate those existing entries.

Override a Member’s Cost Rate

There may be instances where a team member’s cost rate differs on a per project basis. Perhaps you leverage sub-contractors who bill you at a different hourly rate depending on the project they are working on. In those instances, you can override a team member’s cost rate for a particular project. To do this, access the action menu (Figure 4) at the end of the project team member row in the Team section (Figure 2). Select the Edit Cost Rate menu item. This menu item is only available to Workspace Admins.

Figure 6 - Edit a Project Team Member's Rates on the Project

On the dialog, you can enter Labor Cost Per Hour and / or Overhead Cost Per Hour, just as you can on a member’s Member Profile. The Total Cost Per Hour value will be used to calculate the member’s labor cost for this particular project. An overridden cost rate only changes a member’s cost on member-based performance reports when the member uses the Hourly Wage cost method. Members on a Fixed Wage Per-Hour or Fixed Wage Per-Month cost method are costed from their capacity rather than the hours they record, so those reports are unaffected by the override. Project-based performance reports are charged for every hour recorded regardless of cost method. For a full comparison, see How does the Member Cost Method impact performance reporting?.