- Add roles from the client
- Create roles for the project
Add Roles from the Client or the Workspace
Ruddr provides workspace admins with the ability to define workspace-level Project Roles and Rates within the Custom Data section of Workspace Settings. Once these roles are established, they are available to be used on clients and project throughout the workspace. In addition to inheriting project roles from the workspace, new roles can be added to clients to establish a client “rate card”. For more on these roles, please refer to the Client Roles article in the Ruddr Help Center. If roles have indeed been established for the client, those roles can be added to projects. In the Roles section (Figure 1), click the + button at the top-right of the roles list. The menu offers Add Client Roles, which will present a list of available client project roles (Figure 2). You can search the list to find the roles you need. Selecting one or more of these roles will add the role and the corresponding rate to the project (Figure 3). The Add All Client Roles option adds every client role in one step. In addition to adding client roles, you can also choose to add roles directly from the list of workspace roles. If you select the Add Workspace Roles option from the same menu, you can select which workspace roles to add to the project.
Figure 1 - The Roles Section of the Settings Tab Allows Project Admins to Add Roles from the Client

Figure 2 - Select from a List of Client Roles to Add to the Project

Figure 3 - Roles Added from Client

Figure 4 - Selecting Edit from the Action Menu will Allow you to Change Values on the Role
Create New Project Roles
To create a new project role, click the + button at the top-right of the roles list (Figure 1) and select Add Project Role. This will allow you to type in the name of the new role (Figure 5); optionally select a role location, practice, and / or discipline; set the role as either billable or non-billable; set the currency for the role’s bill rate; and provide an hourly rate (for billable roles). Practices, locations, and disciplines are set by your Workspace Admin and they are used to group associated roles together for reporting purposes.
Figure 5 - Add a Role to the Project
Assign Project Team Members to Roles
Once you have your project roles defined, you can then assign project team members to those roles. Role assignments are managed on the role itself. Select the Edit action item from the action menu on the role’s row, then choose the members in the Member Assignments field of the role form (Figure 6).
Figure 5 - Assigned Members are Shown on Each Role Row in the Roles Section

Figure 6 - Assigning a Role to a Project Team Member
Delete a Role Assignment
You can delete a role assignment by editing the role and removing the member from the Member Assignments field of the role form (Figure 6).
Figure 7 - Remove a Role Assignment from the Role Form
Delete or Deactivate a Role
A project role can be deleted or disabled by using the menu on the right side of the row (Figure 1). There are times when the delete option will not be enabled but you always have the ability to deactivate a role (Figure 8).
Figure 8 - Deactivate a Project Role
- One or more project team members are assigned to the role.
- There are existing time entries associated with the role.